The Best and Worst Thing You Will Ever Watch!

A few years ago, I went through what was probably the worst time of my life, ever. Ever. I knew I had digestion problems, but none of the doctors I initially saw would diagnose me. I went to my primary physician several times before he sent me to a gastroenterologist, who sent me to another gastroenterologist, who sent me to a proctologist, who sent me…you get the idea. And after trying a gluten-free diet (even though I didn’t have celiac’s disease), eating tons of fiber and veggies, I felt better but not “cured.” Then I was told to cut dairy, and see how that goes — a lot harder than it seems because I LOVE Ben & Jerrys. I just got so sick of hearing that I have “young persons disease” when I knew there was something seriously wrong. They were doing x-rays and tests, and eventually they finally came up with something concrete. I got mixed reports of benign and malignant. Doctors couldn’t agree. INSANITY!!!

It’s actually a bit of a blur to me. Fortunately everything is great now (yay!) I went about my merry life for two years before a friend told me to watch this documentary called Forks Over Knives.

For those two blissful years, I completely felt like the innocent, poor, little victim Teresa. But this documentary really open up my eyes and made me realize that I had a greater role in my health than I had initially realized.  It was one of the most fascinating documentaries I have ever seen and as cheesy as it sounds, it really did change my life.

I encourage you to watch it with someone, because the temptation will be there to yell at the screen “ARE YOU SERIOUS?”

Watch it! 

https://www.forksoverknives.com/the-film/

8 thoughts on “The Best and Worst Thing You Will Ever Watch!

  1. debsstyle says:

    I have tried to be a vegetarian and even a vegan, for health reasons and benefits, but it was extremely hard for me to completely cut out dairy! I will definitely watch this film, for it will be the “best and worst” thing I will watch!!

    Like

  2. sdaom says:

    I am so sorry to hear about your digestion problem experience from a few years ago, but I am very glad to hear you are fine now! I would have had a very difficult time trying the diets you did, especially cutting out dairy. I also love ice cream! I will definitely consider watching the film.

    Like

  3. alexaravenphotography says:

    Dairy is definitely one of the hardest things to cut out. When I was starting to eat healthy, dairy was really difficult for me to keep out of my diet. It really does make a good addition to a lot of foods, but the calories really get you in my case. I’ll definitely think about watching the movie!

    Like

  4. loisedelosreyes says:

    Im glad to hear you feel better now. I think going to so many different doctors and all of them not knowing what is wrong is really scary so for you to take matters into your own hands to change your diet is inspiring. I can’t imagine cutting out dairy from my diet since my daily coffee fix includes creamer. Have you found alternative things to replace things that you’ve cut out from your diet or do you just avoid it entirely?

    Like

  5. koredespeaks says:

    I just watched Forks Over Knives and it was definitely eye opening. Although, it advises for eating whole foods plant based diets only, I am a true carnivore and I can’t give up my protein. I have been able to give up all red meat though. So I have been able to see positive changes by sticking to seafood and poultry.

    Like

  6. alexseelyyoga says:

    This film just made me want to change to vegetarian even more than I already did before. I do yoga and everyone I know who does it is vegan or vegetarian. They talk about all the benefits and it sounds amazing. I feel like I am too picky to chose this diet because I don’t like a lot of fruits and veggies. I am always looking into it though!

    Like

  7. degree to suit says:

    I like how you opened up about the problems you’ve encountered in your healthy journey thus far — it’s not easy. I feel I can connect a lot with this post, as someone who recently transitioned from being a heavy meat-eater to a vegetarian.

    Like

Leave a Reply

